top of page

Equity Story

Of unicorns and zebras

 

Start-ups valued at more than a billion often proudly call themselves unicorns because of their rarity. They are almost exclusively focused on growth in order to achieve a monopoly position in their defined market in the shortest possible time. Other aspects such as employee satisfaction or social impact count for little, which often leads to a bubble forming. Not infrequently, it turns out that the billion-dollar value belongs just as much to the realm of fable as the namesake itself.

einhorn.jpg
zebra.jpeg

In contrast, companies that focus on sustainability and cooperation are called zebras. They want to realise relevant solutions for social challenges of the 21st century with innovative, socio-ecological approaches. Often, however, they lack the clout, attention - and sometimes also a dash of megalomania to change the world. Yet it is precisely these companies that should grow ambitiously and sustainably, scale consistently and develop new technologies. In this case, "zebras" generate above-average returns with manageable risks.

In contrast, the traditional German SME sector, including its numerous hidden champions, has been an incredible success story over the past decades. Now, an enormous innovation backlog and an imminent loss of relevance are becoming apparent, especially in the area of digitalisation.

Maffei & Co. believes that Germany and the EU need new economic impulses to build greater resilience to crises and strengthen the innovative power of new business models that have a positive impact on society. This is the only way to secure prosperity, the environment and social peace in the future - chasing unicorns that broker pizzas, furniture and used cars and building castles in the air will not succeed.

In contrast, the traditional German SME sector, including its numerous hidden champions, has been an incredible success story over the past decades. Now, an enormous innovation backlog and an imminent loss of relevance are becoming apparent, especially in the area of digitalisation.

Maffei & Co. believes that Germany and the EU need new economic impulses to build greater resilience to crises and strengthen the innovative power of new business models that have a positive impact on society. This is the only way to secure prosperity, the environment and social peace in the future - chasing unicorns that broker pizzas, furniture and used cars and building castles in the air will not succeed.

Maffei & Co. is one of the leading developers of innovative digital business models, companies and eco-systems with social impact and purpose in Europe with a focus on the German-speaking region with fairness, expertise and Evergreen direct investments.

Our contribution

Maffei & Co. makes a relevant contribution as an entrepreneurial family holding company to promote the relevance of innovative business models with management, capital, technology and a strong eco-system with traditional commercial instruments and entrepreneurial virtues and to realise a social impact: Zebras instead of unicorns, earned returns instead of fantasy valuations, resilience instead of hype, participation and involvement in risks and growth.

Maffei & Co. uses its expertise to build the next generation of (hidden) champions by combining traditional medium-sized companies with innovative start-ups under the umbrella of themed holdings to realise sustainable growth strategies.

Maffei & Co. takes risks as a fair partner and bears joint entrepreneurial responsibility. Risks and complexity are proactively managed personally instead of (supposedly) avoiding, delegating or outsourcing them.

 

This approach is consciously in the tradition of private banks at the end of the 19th century, which created the foundations of our current prosperity with entrepreneurial financing, the establishment of technologically innovative companies and the driving of economic renewal processes. This is also the origin of our name: Maffei & Co.

bottom of page

Equity Story

Von Einhörnern und Zebras

 

Start-ups, die mit mehr als einer Milliarde bewertet sind, nennen sich selbst oft aufgrund ihrer Seltenheit stolz Einhörner. Sie sind nahezu ausschließlich auf Wachstum fokussiert, um in möglichst kurzer Zeit eine Monopolstellung in dem von ihnen definierten Markt zu erreichen. Andere Aspekte wie Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit oder gesellschaftlicher Impact zählen wenig, was häufig zu einer Blasenbildung führt. Nicht selten stellt sich heraus, dass der Milliardenwert ebenso ins Reich der Fabel gehört wie der Namensgeber selbst.

Dagegen werden Unternehmen, die auf Nachhaltigkeit und Kooperation setzen, Zebras genannt. Sie möchten mit innovativen, sozial-ökologischen Ansätzen relevante Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts realisieren. Oft fehlen ihnen aber Durchschlagskraft, Aufmerksamkeit - und manchmal auch der Schuss Größenwahn, um die Welt zu verändern. Dabei sollten gerade diese Unternehmen ambitioniert und nachhaltig wachsen, konsequent skalieren und neue Technologien entwickeln. In diesem Fall erwirtschaften „Zebras“ überdurchschnittliche Renditen bei überschaubaren Risiken.

Der traditionelle deutsche Mittelstand war dagegen in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten inkl. seiner zahlreichen Hidden Champions eine unglaubliche Erfolgsgeschichte. Nun zeigt sich gerade bei der Digitalisierung ein enormer Innovationstau und ein drohender Verlust an Relevanz. 

Maffei & Co. glaubt, dass Deutschland und die EU neue wirtschaftliche Impulse benötigen, um eine stärkere Resilienz für Krisen zu bilden und die Innovationskraft neuer Geschäftsmodelle zu stärken, die positiv in die Gesellschaft hineinwirken. Nur so können Wohlstand, Umwelt und sozialer Frieden in der Zukunft gesichert werden - mit der Jagd auf Einhörner, die Pizzen, Möbel und Gebrauchtwagen vermitteln sowie dem Bau von Luftschlössern wird dies nicht gelingen.

Maffei & Co. ist in Europa mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den deutschsprachigen Raum mit Fairness, Expertise und Evergreen-Direktbeteiligungen einer der führenden Entwickler von innovativen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen, Unternehmen und Eco-Systemen mit gesellschaftlichem Impact und Purpose.

Unser Beitrag

Maffei & Co. leistet als unternehmerische Familien-Holding einen relevanten Beitrag, um mit traditionellen kaufmännischen Instrumenten und unternehmerischen Tugenden die Relevanz innovativer Geschäftsmodelle mit Management, Kapital, Technologie und einem starken Eco-System zu fördern und einen gesellschaftlichen Impact zu realisieren: Zebras statt Einhörner, erwirtschaftete Rendite statt Fantasiebewertungen, Resilienz statt Hype, Teilhabe und Mitwirkung bei Risiken und Wachstum.

Ferner schafft Maffei & Co. eine Plattform, über die Business Angels oder Family Offices partizipieren können, ohne sich der Gefahr eines Lock-ins auszusetzen. Damit wird ein einzigartiges Instrument geschaffen für

- eine StartUp-Förderung zur nächsten Generation (Hidden) Champions mit gesellschaftlichem Impact,

- einen erfolgreichen StartUp-Turnaround strauchelnder Geschäftsmodelle - solange das unternehmerische Gerüst intakt ist,

 

- Entwicklungen innovativer Geschäftsmodelle und Eco-Systeme,

 

- Erneuerungsprozesse traditioneller mittelständischer Unternehmen im Zuge der Digitalisierung oder Nachfolgeregelung,

 

- die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von nachhaltigen Wachstumsstrategien.

Maffei & Co. geht als fairer Partner mit ins Risiko und trägt unternehmerische Mitverantwortung. Risiken und Komplexität werden persönlich proaktiv gemanagt statt sie (vermeintlich) zu vermeiden, zu delegieren oder outzusourcen.

 

Dieses Vorgehen steht bewusst ganz in der Tradition der Privatbanken Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts, die mit unternehmerischen Finanzierungen, dem Aufbau technologisch innovativer Unternehmen und dem Antreiben wirtschaftlicher Erneuerungsprozesse die Grundlagen unseres heutigen Wohlstands geschaffen haben. Hieraus ergibt sich auch unser Name: Maffei & Co.

© 2019 - 2020 by Maffei & Co.