top of page

Maffei & Co. - a name steeped in tradition

In 1774, Peter Paul Maffei came from Verona to Munich; in 1802, he founded the Maffei & Co. banking house, which was run by the family for more than 100 years.

Peter Paul's son, Joseph Anton Ritter und Edler von Maffei (1790-1870), proved to be a visionary businessman: he not only expanded his own banking business, but also co-founded the Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechselbank (later HypoVereinsbank) in 1835. In 1836, he invested in what was then a new innovation and founded the J.A. Maffei locomotive factory, from which one of the major German industrial groups emerged: KraussMaffei GmbH, today a leading global manufacturer of plastics machinery. In addition, he was, among other things, the initiator and chairman of the Munich-Augsburg Railway Company.
Furthermore, two Munich institutions are associated with his name: Maffei built the luxury hotel
Bayerischer Hof - and he ran the Augustiner brewery.
Joseph_Anton_von_Maffei_00.jpg

Joseph Anton Maffei

Lokomotivfabrik_maffei_1864.jpg
Joseph Anton's nephew and successor, Hugo Alois von Maffei (1836-1921), further expanded the activities: in 1880, for example, he was one of the founding members of the Bayerische Rückversicherungsgesellschaft (today: Swiss Re Germany AG).
 
From 1890 he became deputy chairman of the supervisory board of
Siemens-Schuckert-Werke AG and, until his death in 1921, chairman of the supervisory board of Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechsel-Bank AG. The latter took over the entire capital of Maffei-Bank in 1990, thus closing the circle.

Workforce of the Maffei locomotive factory with the 500th locomotive (1864)

In the 19th and early 20th century, the Maffei family was one of the leading and courageous pioneers in founding and developing innovative companies.
When in 2019 the Munich entrepreneurial families  Buchner and Claudy were thinking about the name of a joint holding company for the development of promising companies, they realized that the traditional name "Maffei" had no longer been used in the banking sector since 2011, when the bank "Delbrück Bethmann Maffei" merged in the meantime "Bethmann Bank AG".
Since the Approaches of today's Maffei & co differ little from those of private banks at the end of the 19th century (long-term development of technologically innovative companies, consolidation of markets, long-term support of companies), the entrepreneurial families decided, in homage to great entrepreneurs, to revive the name and continue the pioneering spirit. 
bottom of page

Maffei & Co. - ein traditionsreicher Name

1774 kam Peter Paul Maffei von Verona nach München; 1802 gründete er das Bankhaus Maffei & Co., das mehr als 100 Jahre von der Familie geführt wurde.

Peter Pauls Sohn, Joseph Anton Ritter und Edler von Maffei (1790-1870), erwies sich als visionärer Geschäftsmann: Er vergrößerte nicht nur das eigene Bankgeschäft, sondern begründete 1835 auch die Bayerische Hypotheken- und Wechselbank (später HypoVereinsbank) mit. 1836 investierte er in eine damals neue Innovation und gründete das Lokomotivwerk J.A. Maffei, aus der einer der großen deutschen Industriekonzerne hervorging: die KraussMaffei GmbH, heute ein weltweit führender Hersteller von Kunststoffmaschinen. Daneben war er u.a. Initiator und Vorstand der München-Augsburger Eisenbahn-Gesellschaft - und Gründer des Hotels Bayerischer Hof, das noch heute zu den besten Luxushotels von München zählt.

Joseph Anton Maffei

Joseph Antons Neffe und Nachfolger, Hugo Alois von Maffei (1836-1921), baute die Aktivitäten weiter aus: 1880 gehörte er beispielsweise zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Bayerischen Rückversicherungsgesellschaft (heute: Swiss Re Germany AG).
 
Ab 1890 wurde er stellvertretender Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Siemens-Schuckert-Werke AG und bis zu seinem Tod 1921 Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Bayerischen Hypotheken- und Wechsel-Bank AG. Diese übernahm 1990 das vollständige Kapital der Maffei-Bank und schloss damit den Kreis.

Belegschaft der Lokomotivfabrik Maffei mit der 500. Lokomotive (1864) 

Die Familie Maffei war im 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert einer der führenden und mutigen Pioniere bei der Gründung und Entwicklung von innovativen Unternehmen.
Als sich im Jahr 2019 Münchner Unternehmerfamilien Gedanken über den Namen einer gemeinsamen Holdinggesellschaft zur Entwicklung von zukunftsträchtigen Unternehmen machten, stellten sie fest, dass der traditionsreiche Name "Maffei" nicht mehr im Bankbereich genutzt wurde seit im Jahr 2011 das zwischenzeitlich fusionierte Bankhaus "Delbrück Bethmann Maffei" in "Bethmann Bank AG" umfirmiert hatte. 
Da sich die Ansätze der heutigen Maffei & Co. wenig von denjenigen der Privatbanken Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts unterscheiden (langfristiger Aufbau technologisch innovativer Unternehmen, Konsolidierung von Märkten, langfristige Begleitung von Unternehmen), beschlossen die Unternehmerfamilien als Hommage an große Entrepreneure, den Namen wieder aufleben zu lassen und den Pioniergeist fortzusetzen. 

© 2019 - 2020 by Maffei & Co.